Epilepsy Awareness Squad – Finalists for the World Summit Youth Award


A global jury has selected the best 85 youth digital projects from around the world addressing the UN Millennium Development Goals.

Summerland, BC, CANADA; August 12 2014– The World Summit Youth Award (WSYA) has announced the 85 shortlisted project of its seventh edition and Canada’s Epilepsy Awareness Squad website (http://easquad.org) is among them.

THE EPILEPSY AWARENESS SQUAD website was created by Caitie Shaw and Dan Nixon, two high school students from Summerland, BC, in June of 2013. The website and social media platforms connect with individuals living with Epilepsy from all over the world. The purpose of the site is offer people who are affected by the disorder with a place to share their experience and meet others with Epilepsy. The site includes a short film about Epilepsy, facts about the disorder, the Squad’s upcoming events, chats about the challenges of living with Epilepsy and stories highlighting people’s experiences with the Epilepsy.

The competition was fierce in 2014. Initially, 1896 users from 138 UN countries have registered. Under the guidance of Prof. Peter A. Bruck Chairman of the WSYA board, the Jury of international experts will select the 18 winners and 12 runners-up of the WSYA 2014.

Next Step: Winners’ Ceremony and WSYA Congress in Brazil

In a second round of evaluation, the Epilepsy Awareness Squad website (http://easquad.org) has the chance to be selected as an outstanding contribution to the achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals through online creaations.

Hosted by the Humanitare Foundation, the winners’ ceremony will be held November 28th to December 1th, 2014 in Sao Paulo, Brazil. This event will feature world-class keynote speeches, hands-on workshops and engaging panel discussions about social entrepreneurship and the content industry. Who will join the winners’ event will be announced at the end of August 2014.

Six categories to spark innovation and change the world

All products in the WSYA contest –websites, mobile applications and media platforms– are being evaluated for their contribution to the achievements of the UN Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and their capability to harness the power of technology for social improvement. The products were separated in 6 categories: Fight Poverty, Hunger and Disease, Education for All, Power 2 Women, Create your Culture, Go Green and Pursue Truth.

The complete list of all finalists can be found at www.youthaward.com

 About the award

Established in 2005, The World Summit Youth Award (WSYA) is a leading international competition honoring excellence on the use of Internet for social empowerment. As an annual contest it seeks to motivate young people under the age of thirty to actively contribute to the achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. The MDGs were set in 2000 by the UN to prompt member states and civil society to fight poverty, hunger and disease, inequalities, lack of education and environmental degradation.


One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s